reedettes

Summer 2012 Kids Grow

Posted on: August 2, 2012

This summer has been a whirlwind and summer isn’t over yet. But I think the kids will look back at this crazy summer and realize that it was a transition summer from being a child to a pre-teen and teen. Emotionally, physically, spiritually, and intellectually, this summer has been one of growth!

Ethan

Ethan is such a fun kid! I do love this gift of God. God has such a sense of humor and he sent me my son who is one of the funniest people I know. We laugh… and often. He is also a kind and conscientious boy. I love watching him grow up. He is so smart but it doesn’t come out academically but it is manifested through his puns, his jokes, his knowledge, his play. He has such an amazing sense of the English language. Today, he corrected a commercial that used bad grammar.

Football Player

Ethan, my football player

Ethan is playing tackle football for the Hardin Valley Hawks. He is zoned for this school and they allow homeschoolers to join their team. He has been practicing four times a week for two hours each practice since the second week of July.  The coach says he is impressed with Ethan’s athletic ability and he sent me the following in an email: “I really believe that having Ethan’s personality on this team is going to bring this team together and will probably cause us to win a few extra games this year. I feel like I am really lucky this year because I have Jacob who is a true natural leader and I have Ethan who has the spirit that this team needs to succeed. No matter how much talent a team has, it is hard for them to succeed unless they have these intangibles that you simply can’t coach out of the team.  I have no doubt that before this season is over that Ethan will be our best Offensive lineman and that he will probably be one of the best offensive lineman in Knox County.” Ethan is LOVING football. He’s wearing the jersey of one of his favorite football players, Michael Oher (The Blind Side). Ethan’s other favorite player is  Troy Polamalu (whose number is 43 and will be Ethan’s number this year).

We will see if Ethan continues to enjoy this sport. He certainly seems as though he were physically built for it. And all of his dance has paid off. Ethan’s first TWO football games are August 11th in a tournament. A new era for sure!

Sydney

Sydney has had one of the most Sydney-centered summers ever. She participated in two acting camps, two weeks of dance intensive, and two weeks of dance class three times a week. She has TWO new life experiences. The first is that she is now En Pointe. She is loving it and she has no pain whatsoever. Her other big news is she auditioned at the Children’s Theatre of Knoxville and received her first part based on her audition. She was cast as the reinvented role of Ben Gunn as BETSY GUNN in “Treasure Island.” She will perform in thirteen productions.  I am SO glad I am Sydney’s mom because watching her grow up has been such a wonderful privilege.  She is such a neat kid.

My acrobat/aerial dancer, Sydney

Sydney celebrated her birthday late with three friends. I took them to an aerial silks and trapeze art school and they took an hour lesson. The girls and Sydney had so  much fun. Sydney had done some aerial before her birthday and loves it. Here’s one of the best shots I was able to capture as I was trying to get pictures of all four kids.

Katyana

Katyana was continuing with violin but we took a short break and will get back to violin on August 13th. She gets to go and attend a pottery class sometime soon as that is what she wanted to do this summer. Katyana is also becoming a brilliant knitter. She creates her own designs, follows through, and creates the cutest dolls, stuffed animals, barefoot sandals, scarves, baby blankets, you name it. It’s quite impressive.

An original by Katyana

The kids are just growing. We are moving into a phase where we all seem to like each other and we laugh more than we argue or yell. Although this summer wasn’t relaxing (I was packing, unpacking, or driving), it has been an amazing summer. I love my children and I am SO happy to be their mother. It is SUCH an honor. I am SO blessed.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Calendar

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Troubles

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I've bought a big bat. I'm all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!” Dr. Seuss
Stage Advocate

The Untold Story of an Unexpected Stage Parent

reedettes

Our Life Adventures

Roads from Emmaus

Then they told what had happened on the road

She is Our Angel

Our Life Adventures

100 Days of Real Food

Our Life Adventures

I Wanna Cookie

or other yummy vegan treat.

Our Life Adventures

Our Life Adventures

Our Life Adventures

My Little Blessings

Our Life Adventures

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

Babushka Time

A year in St. Petersburg, Russia

