reedettes

Happiness is…

Posted on: September 6, 2011

Ethan, age 9, the backpacker!

It was a strange day from 4:00 a.m. when I awoke and couldn’t fall back asleep. We rushed through Children’s Hospital getting all the orders for blood for Katyana and Ethan and then rushed to the dentist for all three kids. I converted the back of my van into an office and sorted paperwork and cut coupons with whichever child was  finished or waiting.  Ethan’s cardiologist called, having already receiving Ethan’s blood work and said Ethan’s cholesterol was 77 and what did I do to get it so low (VERY GOOD THING).  He was shocked. He asked me if I’ve changed his medication, withheld his medication, or if I just started giving it to him. None of the above. He’s always had it but this child truly eats healthy. We have eliminated food dyes and processed meat. We try to buy foods with only three or four authentic food ingredients. Ethan rode his bike and swam some but he always rides his bike and is physical. We see the cardiologist in person on Friday.

Yummy Food!

We only had $110 for the next ten days and today that was somehow stretched to $300 in purchases with coupons and some miraculous interventions. We are working hard at collecting coupons and being very financially aware. This has been great for the kids and me. It’s necessary for survival!

Dmitri, Nikolai, and Nathaniel Korniyenko

I ran into someone so precious to me and her darling boy who was truly like one of my own. After three years apart, he recognized me from across the store and came to me, hugging me, hugging me tight.He’s six now. I had no idea how much I had missed him. My heart is soaring tonight. He’s precious. Absolutely precious.  I’m not taking this day for granted. This was an amazing day.

And to top it off like a cherry on a sundae, my son actually wanted to sleep in bed with me and snuggle. He’s maturing so quickly and growing into such a young man but I like these glimpses, albeit small glimpses, that I see of him from his younger years.

Thank you God for such a day as today.

Sydney and her prayer doll praying thank you to God.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Calendar

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Troubles

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I've bought a big bat. I'm all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!” Dr. Seuss
Stage Advocate

The Untold Story of an Unexpected Stage Parent

reedettes

Our Life Adventures

Roads from Emmaus

Then they told what had happened on the road

She is Our Angel

Our Life Adventures

100 Days of Real Food

Our Life Adventures

I Wanna Cookie

or other yummy vegan treat.

Our Life Adventures

Our Life Adventures

Our Life Adventures

My Little Blessings

Our Life Adventures

Glory to God for All Things

Orthodox Christianity, Culture and Religion, Making the Journey of Faith

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

Babushka Time

A year in St. Petersburg, Russia

